To thrive off random

I have quite frequently been noted on my almost unexhausted knowledge of random and almost completely useless facts; many of which I note down in my rather shabby old notebook or hold as my phone background.  These usually compile of fantastic quotes from books I ought to read or people I wish I met.

“To thrive of randomness” is realy something we all do everyday. The facts or anecdotes I know come from the podcasts, Tv shows or books I read (yes … I am bit of an old woman at heart) are ingrained in all of us; but it is drawing links, as historians are so notorious for, that allows them to be applied in almost any situation. 

so here are some of the quotes, pictures and facts that I have picked up in the last 6 months. They are a conglomeration of my travels, my education and general life inspiration. My favorite quote this month, as funny as it is, is beginning to ring true as A-levels tip into the borderline breakdown stage and to just have one night where i am not panic writing an essay would be lovely.

“cinderella never asked for a prince she asked for a night off and a dress”

– Kiera cass

I have just got back from a “night off” with a few of my friends having tamely celebrated an 18th birthday at a dinner party (I suppose all my friends are old at heart realy).  How could I not resist writing down such a fabulous quote !

This next one I took a picture of in a bookstore in America. Being dyslexic I did actually use this quote in my personal statement although the 3000 words did not include such a fabulous sketch.

1150.JPG

This next picture is also from my trip to america, the grand canyon to be exact. Did you know that in 1935 some poor souls laid a telephone line from one side of the canyon to the other!

 

while we’re still on the topic of dyslexia – I found this image yesterday of what it looks like to read with the condition. luckily i’m not this bad but just regularly forget words, spellings, phrasings oh and funnily swapping up of numbers; suppose I am reading 1975 I would say 1957 whilst thinking I am saying 1975 … random no?

you have probably already guessed from the first two quotes but I like a good sassy historian, J.M.Roberts is exactly that and this quote from him is one of my all time favorites … i have ended many an argument with this line.

“I have not changed my mind about a particular topic and have felt no need to give it more or less attention”

– J.M.Roberts

 

So there you have it a few random bits and pieces from my collection. This notebook of mine also holds some great ideas for my new youtube channel please check it out (if you already hadn’t) www.youtube.com/channel/UCynlSlG8Iq44FQZi2X8vCtw , although I am not sure how I film “my drunk historic kitchen”!

Please like and comment if you enjoyed this. I am also thinking of doing a random fact/quote of the month – what do you think?

 

see you soon fellow time travelers

 

Leave a Reply

